Water Delivery

image

I stand in neck deep water
Thirst rising through soggy skin
I question
The water in my womb
Or curdled milk
Or whatever that be

We sit encircling the sacred fire
Ancient tribe
Ritualised under
The sunken moon
Tonight
Comb-search the next one’s child
She of another and so on
Looking for lice
Occasionally finding
Star dust in a strand or two

Squatting in neck deep waters
As the sac bursts
I in labour
Question
The verity of each one I birth

© All rights reserved, Nivedita Dey, 2016

Leave a Reply

